Archive through November 29, 2001 Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Express Builders Forum » General Express Aircraft Discussions » General Questions » Archive through November 29, 2001 « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Rick Spriggle (Rspriggle)
Posted on Tuesday, November 06, 2001 - 06:39 pm:   

Hello everyone,

I'm a new Express builder and just picked up an 89 Wheeler lower fuselage and wing kit plus an additional set of 1990 wings. The original wings are partly finished with one closed and I don't have logs or pictures, so I would like to use the newer wings so I know how they are constructed. Only problem I see is the newer wings are distinctly different from the older ones, especially the rib and aileron torque tube locations.

Anybody care to comment on this? The newer wing is standing up against the wall and older one on the floor.

wingpic.jpeg

I'm also in need of quite a few parts, control system in particular. If anyone has any spares around or has upgraded to newer systems let me know what you have.

Thanks,
Rick

Brian McKinney (Bmckinney)
Posted on Tuesday, November 06, 2001 - 07:29 pm:   

Fuel vapor return line questions:

1. How far out should the vapor return line go if I am using the two tank configuration in the wings? (I converted mine from a four to a two tank.) The original plans have it go out to the second bay. I'm wondering if I need to go out further since all bays will be used. (Newer Express builders should have this information...)

2. Since I converted to the two tank setup, I have a spare fitting on my fuel pickup plate for the line that used to go to the outboard tanks. Any reason I can't use this port for my vapor return line connection? I can then route the line inside the tank to the correct fuel bay.

Thanks,
Brian

Tom R. Hutchison (Tomhutch)
Posted on Tuesday, November 06, 2001 - 07:45 pm:   

Brian,