What is the value of a kit with engin... Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Express Builders Forum » General Express Aircraft Discussions » What is the value of a kit with engine and instruments? « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Michael Wyckoff
Username: Newexpressguy

Post Number: 1
Posted on Thursday, July 14, 2011 - 04:41 pm:   

Hi guys, I am a private pilot with no kit building experience. A fellow has offered me a partially built kit consisting of all six phases, a standard tail assembly to replace the cruciform tail, a zero time IO540 rebuilt by a reputable local builder, a McCauley three blade experimental prop, and instrumentation for a basic VFR panel. He wants $65K. I just registered with the forum. I will be reading all the threads to gain knowledge but am concerned that they are mostly old thread with little current activity. I would like to begin discussing my opportunity. Anyone out there to help guide me along? Is it a good deal or a rip off? I will benefit from your experience if you're willing to share. Thanks. Newexpressguy

Al Kittleson
Username: Al38kit

Post Number: 55
Posted on Thursday, July 14, 2011 - 07:38 pm:   

I bought a flying CT with a newly OH 520 for $40K. It needs lots of work. It's in pieces now.

I've seen nice flying ones for around $70K...buy one!

Jim Oyler
Username: Midniteoyl

Post Number: 136
Posted on Thursday, July 14, 2011 - 08:19 pm:   

I've seen $70-90k for a full flying aircraft... couple on here are for sale in that range in fact..

Bruce Newlan
Username: Bnewlan

Post Number: 10
Posted on Thursday, July 14, 2011 - 09:15 pm:   

I will sell my Series 90 full flying aircraft with an IO550 for $65K

Steve Adams
Username: Stevepadams

Post Number: 1
Posted on Thursday, July 14, 2011 - 11:21 pm: