Ignition systems Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Express Builders Forum » Aircraft Engines » Ignition systems « Previous Next »

Top of pagePrevious messageNext messageBottom of page Link to this message

Terry Sack (Terrair)
Posted on Sunday, April 14, 2002 - 05:17 pm:   

I have committed to a Continental engine and was hoping to have FADEC controls. There are still some difficulties with the system in higher horsepower engines. I don't mind being one of the first to use a system but I don't want to be the very first one either.

Does anyone in the group know of a field proven ignition system for Continental to replace one or both magnetos? Lightspeed seems oriented to the Lycoming crowd. As is Unison. Don't know anything about others.

Anonymous
Posted on Monday, April 15, 2002 - 09:18 am:   

I have no first hand experience with FADEC, but I have a considerable amount of experience with dynamic propeller balancing and vibration analysis. I have discussed FADEC with the people who taught me how to balance propellers. They have told me that FADEC will fine-tune each cylinder for optimum performance. However, the problem with that is that each cylinder is independent of the other cylinders. Meaning that the power pulse is the maximum for each cylinder. When this happens, you set up a torsional vibration that can break the crankshaft. What you really need is to balance the power pulse to precisely balance the opposing firing cylinder. This is what the GAMI injector people are trying to do. Whenever FADEC addresses this problem, and it is my understanding they are trying, then I wouldn't be afraid to try their system. Until then, I think I would wait.

Jim Butler

Eric Holmberg
Posted on Tuesday, April 16, 2002 - 11:05 pm: